O.B.F "Signz" Vinyl

€27,00 €30,00

O.B.F "Signz" Vinyl 2LP - Transparent Red Vinyl Repress - 17 tracks + 1 bonus track - 4 sides - September 24, 2021
More informations below


Released in 2014, “Wild” was O.B.F.’s first foray into the album format. It brought together music built for the soundsystem, rugged, high-impact tracks that perfectly fitted the public image of O.B.F. during that era. This new album is a different story, a personal journey that takes in the dancehall, Rico's studio, and everywhere in between. “Signz” was born two years ago, not with music, but with a concept and a name. The idea was to create an album without paying heed to time, allowing space for creativity and letting chance encounters shape the music.
A project that would evolve over its lifetime, without being rushed. Letting the signs reveal themselves over time, and taking advantage of opportunities as they presented themselves, whether on tour, during recording sessions or when travelling. This approach, a relationship with the present moment and the feeling more simply known as the “vibe”, defines the album. But beyond that, it’s been the driving philosophy behind O.B.F. since they started making music.
A quick glance at the LP sleeve reveals a staggering list of collaborations, combinations that are as formidable as they are unprecedented. Jamaican, French, Spanish, English… vocalists and MCs from the four corners of the globe take turns in showing off their unique styles. Some are regular contributors to O.B.F. productions, whilst others are new collaborators, but all have deep, historical links to the crew. It’s here that O.B.F. unveils the full breadth and depth of their influences for the first time on record. Already known for their expertise as rubadub and heavyweight dub producers, here they show their talent working with roots, grime and even pop. It’s a testament to the free creative approach exercised by the crew during the recordings that no matter what style
they’re working with, the result is always delivered with flair and finesse. It also speaks to O.B.F.’s desire to rip off, once and for all, the “European dub” label which so many have stuck to them. Here, O.B.F. stands for versatility, openness and daring.
O.B.F.’s identity and style has been built across the globe: from the heights of Alps to the burning sun of Jamaica, between headline performances at Spanish festivals and sets in the barrios of Latin America or the dancehalls of London. Their music is unlike any other. But for the doubters among you, a single listen to “Signz” will provide indisputable proof of that truth.


INTRO feat Nazamba
A1: INA THIS YA TIME feat Charlie P, Irah, Killa P
A2 : BUN THE EVIL feat Jah Mason
A3 : I’M AN AFRICAN feat Tippa Irie
A4 : PARTY RAM feat Sr Wilson
INTERLUDE feat Nazamba
B1 : REBEL DAAWTAZ feat Aza Lineage
B2 : BUBBLE feat Charlie P
B3 : YOUR LOVE feat Shanti D
INTERLUDE feat Nazamba
B5 : MUSICA feat Belén Natalí, Sr Wilson
C1 : DRIVA (NO GPS MIX) feat Biga*Ranx, Sr Wilson
C2 : WATER feat Pupa Jim
INTERLUDE feat Nazamba
C3 : BORN INA FIRE feat Joseph Lalibela
C4 : WAGWAN feat Charlie P, Killa P
D3 : MY SOUND feat Daddy Freddy, Junior Roy